Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 14, 2010

Kayley and Kitchen…reunited:)

It’s FRIDAY!!  Do you know what that means?  No class!  Super duper, I know!  I’ll take a full 8 hour day in the kitchen over 4 1/2 hours in a cold, boring classroom ANY DAY!

Breakfast:

  • Chobani Blueberry Non-fat Greek Yogurt
  • Crisp, delicious Gala apple

Apple slices make good yogurt dippers!

14 g of protein…not too shabby for a cup of yogurt I’d say!

The blueberries are legit.  No artificially flavored garbage!

On to more food (for others)!

We had a TON of extremely ripe bananas on hand.  You know what that means!  NANA BREAD Nana bread MUFFINS!  Every Saturday morning we serve breakfast at the tea room (unlike solely lunch like throughout the week) and one of the ‘lighter’ menu selections is a parfait and muffin.  Hope tomorrow’s customers like nana bread cause that’s what they’re getting!

Scone count was running low.  I took care of that!

Chocolate chip scones, pre-bake of course.  Confession: I like batter/dough…far more than the final product.

In the midst of scone construction, EXTREME hunger hit me.  It was bazaar.  Proof of how hungry I was…

(If you look closely, you can see that I didn’t even bother to wash the scone dough off my hands)  Nana was delish.

Approximately 1 hour later I consumed something with more substance:

  • English muffin
  • sun-dried tomato and shiitake mushroom hummus
  • spinach

Lunch service went well.  We had a good crowd I’d say.  After lunch service was over, I made some parmesan stuffed chicken breasts, a baked pasta dish, and traditional bruchetta topping for a special dinner tonight (I say “special” because we rarely serve dinner at the tea room).  Julie (the manager) and I planned next week’s menu shortly after.  We planned and I munched…

  • Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon cereal
  • Kashi Autumn Wheat cereal

After work I came home and crashed for a while 🙂  Dinner was simple.  I wasn’t too terribly hungry.  I’ve always eaten my cracked wheat for breakfast with sweet additions (such as pumpkin butter, jelly, bananas, or unsweetened applesauce) but for dinner I decided to add some pecorino cheese with a dash of sea salt.  Simple, yet delicious 🙂

Ok, so maybe it’s not a very photogenic food, but it hit the spot.

Well fellow foodies, I’m off to work on cakes 2 & 3!  Much to do and time is ticking down! 

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

