Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 9, 2010

Pancakes for Dinner

Well, folks, I’m back after taking a blogger’s day off.  Hope everyone had a splendid mother’s day!  I did and I’m not even a mom!  Brief rewind of yesterday’s happenings: Came into work, prepared the mother’s day menu items, took a break from lunch prep to actually eat with the women of my family (which was SUPER weird actually being in the front of the house as a “guest”  in my own restaurant!), came home, drove to Knoxville to sign my apartment lease for next fall, ate dinner with mom at this swanky restaurant call Chez Libery, stopped by Earth Fare, and headed home to SLEEP!  SHEWWW!  At least the weather was b-e-a-utiful!

On to today’s eats!  I gave Mickey D’s a run for their money with my take on their greasy, nasty breakfast sandwiches.  Needless to say, I came out victorious (and I’m sure you’ll agree)!

  • Thomas Whole Wheat Bagel Thin
  • 1/2 cup scrambled egg whites with hot sauce
  • Morningstar Maple-flavored “sausage” patties

Beautiful, dontcha think?

A wonderful church service was to follow.

We then headed across the street to a restaurant called Hillside Grille where we indulged in their mother’s day buffet.  Let me start off by saying that I typically HATE buffets.  Quantity, not quality…ick!  This one was pretty darn good though.  The lighting was pretty dim.  Here’s my ATTEMPT at getting a decent picture of my plate:

Starting from bottom right, rotating clockwise:

  • lightly dressed tossed salad
  • sliver of cheese lasagna
  • mashed red potatoes (chunky, like I prefer!) with sautéed mushrooms
  • steamed veggies
  • massive portion of black bean salad
  • (not pictured) bite of mom’s cheesecake and bite of dad’s brownie (neither were worth the calories)

I can’t decide which I liked best.  It was a toss-up between the mashed potatoes and the black bean salad, but after considering the nutritional benefits of both along with the taste, I’d give it to the black bean salad.  Paired with diced tomatoes and a light vinaigrette dressing, it was light and refreshing and somewhat original I’d say.

After lunch, my family and I visited my grandmother and presented her with a huge frame with pictures of all us grandkids (remember the pics I shared from last Monday?)  She loved it!  She’s a bragger when it comes to her grandkids so I’m sure everyone in the assisted living facility will know us all before we even come in!

I was feeling BREAKFAST for dinner tonight (oh, how I love breakfast food!!) so pancakes were in order…whole wheat pancakes to be exact!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1T + 1t baking powder
  • 1t salt
  • 3T sugar
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 6T unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1t vanilla

Naked pancakes are no bueno.  Strawberries to the rescue!  Mom bought a gallon of fresh strawberries last week and the majority were frozen in individual bags.  All I did was defrost them in the microwave and mix in a few packets of Truvia natural sweetener and WALLAH!

No need for syrup drenching folks!  Light and fresh and healthy 🙂

Debbie Downer warning:

Kayley starts summer classes tomorrow.  BOOOOOO!!  Think about me at 9am when I’m reviewing syllabuses.  I’m foreseeing multiple cups of joe in the mornin!  No fear, this whole school thing won’t stop me from concocting my culinary creations!

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

