Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 6, 2010

“Special” Day

Good evening readers 🙂  I hope everyone had as splendid a day as I did!  Work was great today.  It’s always uplifting when our daily special is a big hit.  The manager, Julie, and I, sit down once a week and spend time planning what the specials for the coming week, and as cheesy as this sounds, a little bit of each one of us goes into each daily special.  There is a reason that special is there.  There is a reason why that special is going on that particular day.  There is a reason why that side is paired with that main item.  It may be because a  particular guest requested that item or it may be because I’ve been really really craving that particular dish or to be quite honest, it may be because one particular ingredient was on sale.  We don’t just throw this stuff together just so we can be done with it and call it a day.  When that ticket prints out in the back and it reads “special, special, special, special….” I know I’ve done something right (and when the plates come back empty, that’s the icing on the cake!)  Alright, I’ll get off my soap box.  Breakfast, shall we?

Breakfast:

  • 1 cup Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon Cereal
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 eh, maybe 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

Proven fact: food tastes better with farm spoon.

Proven fact: food tastes better in cute little heart shapes.

Off to work!

The kitchen smelled of cinnamon rice pudding today.  I’ll be honest, I had never made rice pudding until today.  It doesn’t exactly shout “trendy” from a culinary school stand point.  Well, Johnson and Wales, trendy doesn’t always taste the best, now does it?!  It turned out great!  So warm and creamy with that perfect hint of cinnamon.  It goes on the  menu tomorrow so I’m hoping for a great response!  I also made fried apple scones.  They turned out ok.  Certainly could have been better.  The excess moisture from the fried apples caused them to not rise as much as I would have liked, but they tasted ok.  I’ll know better next time around.

Lunch part 1:

  • whole wheat tortilla
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • handful of halved grapes

 

Tasted like a PB and J, minus the smooth texture.  Shocker, I know.

I prepared it at home and enjoyed it at work.

Lunch rush came and went (the word is getting out about the restaurant, I can tell 🙂 )

Lunch part 2 (I apologize for the horrible picture.  Cottage cheese isn’t very photogenic):

  • 1/4 cup fat-free cottage cheese
  • leftover sautéed peppers from today’s special

I’ll mix cottage cheese with just about anything!

Julie and I planned the menu for next week and then I headed home to some dippin’ fun!

Snack:

  • celery
  • non-fat, plain Chobani yogurt

  • celery
  • hummus

  • cucumber
  • hummus

And the winner…cucumber and hummus, hands down (that cucumber was way bigger than this photo gives it credit for.  just sayin.)

Walked around town with mom and came home to dinner that I had already prepared.

Dinner: Shrimp Roll and Vegetable Soup (kinda like winter meets summer on a plate!)

  • shrimp
  • non-fat Greek yogurt
  • celery
  • cucumber
  • salt and pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • whole wheat buns
  • bibb lettuce leaves

(The veggie soup contained everything but the kitchen sink.  Use your imagination.)

Light and refreshing 🙂

Well, that’s all the eating for tonight.  Now I’m off to experiment with strawberry shortcake cake #2 (see previous post for strawberry shortcake cake attempt #1)

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

