Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 5, 2010

OLE!

So let me preface by saying that the title of today’s post has absolutely nothing to do with today’s happenings/eats.  As a matter of fact, no Mexican food was consumed today.  Shucks.  I do like the word “Ole,” however, and found it to be rather fitting for such a holiday.  On to more edible matters!

Ahh, beautiful morning, eh?  I was craving waffles this morning and conveniently I had an unopened box of Kashi GoLean waffles calling my name from the fridge.  I answered.

Breakfast:

  • 2 Kashi GoLEAN waffles (I opted for plain instead of my usual blueberry)
  • Chobani peach Greek Yogurt
  • Granny Smith apple

I intentionally got the plain waffles this time because I was planning on making a breakfast sandwich with scrambled eggs and tomatoes (Grainger County tomatoes to be exact!) somewhere along the way…it just wasn’t this mornin. 

Waffle meets Greek Yogurt 🙂 Such a lovely pair.

Off to work, Joe numero dos in hand!

There was a party of 18 lovely ladies who came by the tea room today for a luncheon.  They LOVED it!  I’ve never heard so many compliments.  It was so humbling 🙂  Since I usually stay in the back of the house (the kitchen), I rarely get to interact with the guests so it was nice getting to see such happy people eating the food that I helped prepare.

Snack/part-lunch:

Big helping of fat-free cottage cheese

An hour later I had the remaining Chobani Greek yogurt from this mornin and a 1/2 of a Thomas Bagel Thin:

I toasted the bagel and dipped it in the yogurt.  (I didn’t feel like dirtying up a plate when I had to run off and do something, so this seemed like the next best thing.  clever, I know)

I’ve never heard of lemon poppyseed scones (however I’m not claiming that I came up with them) but I LOVE lemon poppyseed muffins and I LOVE scones…so why not put the two together!

Complementary scones tend to make people happy. 

AAAAAND another snack for Kayley!.  Veggie Straws make wonderful hummus dippers.

Headed to the gym and then came home and fixed breakfast…for dinner….cinnamon apple oat style!

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 2-3 teaspoons apple pie spice
  • 1 packet Truvia
  • 2/3 Granny Smith apple

Most foodie bloggers would be hesitant to post a picture of such messy oats in such a messy bowl, but I like to think this expresses my oats’  inability to contain themselves.  I was equally as excited.

So what if it’s 80 degrees outside.  I like oats.  I like apples.  I like cinnamon. 

And I bet you want some now too! 

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

