Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 3, 2010

Scone LOVE

It’s Monday and ya know what that means?!?!  Back to work folks!  Lucky for me, I get to make scrumptious food and baked goods ALL day long.  I wish everyone could have the same joy and passion for their jobs that I have!  

Breakfast consisted of a new product for me!  Thomas Whole Wheat Bagel Thins 🙂 

Check out the stats:

Toasted one of these babies up and paired it with some Strawberry Chobani Greek yogurt and a perfectly ripened nana.  Washed it all down with an iced joe.  Thanks Joe.

Construction time! 

Fresh and fruity?  Indeed!

Unfortunately there were some cons to my slimmer bagel buddies 😦  (Debby Downer warning!) Even after toasting them, I still didn’t achieve that crispy, crusty exterior with a soft, chewy interior that I love so much about a toasted bagel.  Instead, I felt I was going to get all crunch or all chew…not both.  Boo.  That being said, I liked everything else… flavor, nutritional info, size, etc.

Moving on to chocolatier (yes, I believe I just made up that word) matters…scone anyone?

Aren’t they just beautiful!  Light and flaky, golden on the bottom, perfect ratio of chocolate chips to scone, and from what I heard from others, they were pretty darn good (I would never eat one of these calorie-filled, fatty pastries…never!)

Aww shuck!  Caught in the act.  Can you blame me?

Baked a batch of these beauties, some corn muffins, pate a choux puffs, chicken salad, chocolate cupcakes, and chocolate mousse.  Thankfully we were a little slow today so that enabled me to focus on being a production powerhouse!!!!

On to lunch #1 (which I packed from home)

  • Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon cereal
  • Chobani Greek yogurt, left-over from breakfast
  • fat-free cottage cheese

 

Lunch #2 was a Strawberry Salad from our lunch menu that contained:

  • organic field greens
  • feta cheese
  • pecans
  • strawberries
  • raspberry vinaigrette

So light and summery 🙂

I got home around 5ish and raided the refrigerator for this tropical delight…

MaNgO!

STILL hungry….

  • more Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon cereal (can you tell I like this cereal?)
  • unsweetened applesauce
  • more fat-free cottage cheese

Off to a local park to meet with my cousins!  Our Mimi has been begging us for a new picture of the 5 of us.  Here’s a glimpse of me and my lovely cousins/sister:

and me!

My stomach was grrrrrrowling during our little modeling session so I was happy when someone voiced, “Can we eat now?!”  On to Applebees!

I got a half-size California Shrimp Salad (no bacon, but apparently the people in the back don’t care what I want) and side of a plain baked potato.  How I love the simplicity of a starchy potato 🙂

I ate the entire salad (with the exception of the bits of bacon that I attempted to eat around) and mainly the skin of the potato.  The skin could have been a little crisper, but besides that, a potato is a potato…not much else to say.  The salad was more chopped up than I would have liked.  I hate it when all the components kind of blend together and there’s not much distinction between the ingredients.  Oh well.  The avocado was a nice touch.  I looooove creamy avocados!  The shrimp were small, but nice and spicy.  Overall, not amazing, but I was hungry, lucky for Applebees.  Wait a sec…when am I NOT hungry. 

Well, that was all of today’s adventures.  Busy busy busy! I have a feeling it’s gonna be like this EVERY DAY this week.  Heads up…there are 3 events at the tea room on Saturday so who knows how much bloggin is going to get done later in the week.  

Happy eating!

Responses

  1. Hope you put to good use the strewberries I left for you yesterday.


Leave a Reply

Categories

