Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 2, 2010

Strawberry Shortcake Cake Attempt #1

Happy Sunday all!  When I left ya last night I was juuuust about to make a practice strawberry shortcake cake for a graduation party and lucky for you (luckier for me) it turned out great…but not perfect.  I started out with a simple, white cake batter that I split between two 9 x 9 inch pans, baked them, and allowed them to cool (insert Jeopardy jingle).  Now time to get rid of that little hump.  No worries, it won’t go to waste 🙂

This is SO not pastry chef-ish of me, using the little cake slicer saw.  Oh, well.

Finished product is perfectly level!  Cake scraps for the chef!

Time for assembly:

  • Whipped topping icing
  • Fresh strawberries
  • White cake layers

Finished it with the “Betty Crocker” swirl

And then DIVED IN! (delicately 🙂 )

Improvements for next time:

  1. I didn’t want to have to do this, but I have a feeling I’m going to have to use Cool Whip to get that grocery store-like icing.  Shucks.  This time I used real whipped heavy cream and softened cream cheese.  Of course this one had the cream cheese tang that I LOVE, buuuut it’s not what she asked for.  I wish all customers could taste it from my perspective.
  2. I’m going to have to dice the strawberries into a small dice as opposed to a slice.  Big chunks are tasty, but not so eye appealing.
  3. The strawberry flavor wasn’t quite as aggressive as I would have liked, so next time around I’ll mix the diced strawberries with a strawberry fruit spread for a strawberry double punch!

Strawberry Shortcake Cake Attempt #2 to come!  Keep checkin back!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

