Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 2, 2010

Choco-nana Oats

Chocolate, for breakfast???  Yes please!  I can honestly say that I haven’t had chocolate for breakfast since the age of 12ish.  Not even kidding, for about 2 years straight I ate 2 S’mores Pop Tarts every morning!!!!  Just out of curiosity, I looked at the nutritional info for a Poop Pop Tart and my discoveries were disturbing…very disturbing!  For 2 tarts (wait a sec…tarts shouldn’t be for breakfast!), which is one serving, there are 400 calories, 10 grams of fat, and 38 grams of sugar.  Knowing what I know now, I wish I could make these things illegal.  Moving on to healthier chocolatey matters.

Made another batch of overnight oats, this time with:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup Silk Almond Milk (this is new for me!)
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa
  • 1 packet Truvia natural sweetener

Dear Oats, goodnight and enjoy your time “chillin” with the hummus and egg whites.  They’re very friendly.  See you in the morning!

Good mornin thick, creamy oats!

Paired it with a nana and some iced joe and I was good to go!

Together at last 🙂

Off to church!

No surprise, I was STARVING when I got home!  It always happens like that.  Carbs were in order for today.

  • whole wheat noodles
  • Newman’s Own pasta sauce
  • sautéed spinach
  • Morningstar Meal Starter crumbles
  • Pecorino Romano cheese

After downing my pasta creation, it was time to cater to my sweet tooth.  I just so happened to have an entire strawberry shortcake cake on hand…how convenient!  Baby slice 🙂

Dishes were washed, grandparents were visited, tile shopping  was done, Sonic run was made (oops, forgot to document my Diet Cherry Limeade, light ice), apartment applications were filled out, snack was consumed….

  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon cereal

And dinner was made:

  • whole wheat tortilla
  • black beans
  • corn
  • fat-free vegetarian re-fried beans
  • fresh Grainger County tomatoes (the best in the world!)
  • 2% Mexican cheese blend
  • salsa
  • avocado
  • OLE!

Crusty crunchy cheesy goodness 🙂

See…Mexican food CAN be healthy!!!!!

Digesting has occurred and now my stomach has made room for one last sweet treat.  What’s that noise?!?!  I believe the strawberry cake is calling my name!  Baby piece, Kayley…only a baby piece!  Two baby pieces = one regular piece…right?

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

