Posted by: healthychickbakes | May 1, 2010

Check out my new kicks!

Good evening, readers who I love!  Despite the clouds that came and went, it was an absolutely marvelous day, would you not agree?!  I have also decided that the work day should not begin so early.  I ❤ sleeping in!  Moving on…

 I believe I’m going to start this post with a little bit of inedible randomness.  Look at these beauties that were discovered in the basement in the midst of some major spring cleaning!

YEAAAAH buddy!  Those would be vintage Gellies and high tops.  Be jealous.  Blister anyone?

On to edible matters!

Woke up at 9:30ish and threw this together before heading out the door for my Saturday mornin’ workout:

  • 1/4 cup Ezekiel 4:9 Flax cereal
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • dollop of unsweetened applesauce
  • dollop of peach Chobani Greek yogurt
  • sprinkling of the all-purpose, versatile spice that is pumpkin pie spice 🙂

No, you aren’t seeing things.  There is no coffee in the picture.  Sadness.  (Continue reading for liquid happiness)

Kept breakfast on the lighter side for a reason.  My stomach tends to prefer it that way pre-workout.

Came home, but not before said liquid happiness went down.

This is a rarity.  I never go to McDonalds, however I needed my fix.

Non-fat latte 🙂

Came home and had a nana:

Wasn’t quite as ripe as I usually prefer them, but I was hungry.  It sufficed.

Lunch-time was the best part of my day in terms of eatin.  So simple, so delicious…roasted sweet potatoes.

I simply cubed up a sweet potato, tossed it in some extra virgin olive oil, and sprinkled it with some good quality sea salt (that iodized table crap won’t do folks!).  Baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.  This method is much quicker than baking them whole!

 After they came out of the oven, I sprinkled these cuties with a wee bit of pecorino romano cheese.  Bon appetit!

This was a pretty big sweet potato so it filled me up.

Afternoon came around and some errands were run, grocery shopping was done, and dinner was made.

I got this recipe out of CookingLight magazine:

Lemon and Maple Glazed Salmon with grilled veggies (the veggies were my own touch).

Perfectly cooked broccoli, red peppers, and mushrooms!

Salmon glamour shot!

(notice the caramely, glazed maple goodness)

Ahh, all that being said, I’m full and now off to do a practice run for a cake I’ve been asked to make for a graduation.  They wanted a strawberry shortcake-like cake with the whipped topping icing (ya know, like you can get at grocery store bakeries).  I can honestly say that of all the cakes I’ve done, I’ve never received this request before (hence the practice run.  I’m sure my family won’t oppose).  I’ll let ya know how it goes…and tastes 🙂 I’m gonna put those grocery stores outta business!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

