Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 29, 2010

Panera makes a good day GREAT!

Yippee for days like today 🙂  Fun-filled AND productive.  I took the day off from work because official, apartment shopping business had to go down.  No lease was signed but my roommate and I definitely decided on the place where we will be spending the next year or more.  I feel so adultish 🙂 Before meeting up in K-town, eating and sweating did take place.  I’m not used to morning workouts but it was certainly a nice change of pace.  I felt much more energized throughout the day.  Good thing on a day like today!

Breakfast:

  • 1/4 cup cracked wheat
  • 1/2 cup water
  • splash of skim milk
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin butter
  • sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice

Just enough food to energize me, yet not weigh me down for my morning workout.

After my workout, I stopped at a small produce stand very close to my house and picked all this up for…….$1.99!!!  Not even kidding!

  • 1 MASSIVE Jonagold apple
  • 2 oranges
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 2 sweet potatoes

 Mid-morning snack included one of the above oranges with another cup of iced joe.

I was so optimistic about this orange.  It let me down 😦

SUPER dry!  I couldn’t even swallow one segment it was so dry.

Orange attempt numero dos…Food City style.

Success 🙂

I decided to “supreme” this one.  (remove all the peel and pith, leaving only the flesh.  pic was taken pre-supreme.)  During culinary school we weren’t allowed to include an orange on a plated dessert unless it was supremed.  Needless to say, I supremed a lot of oranges!

Lunch:

  • Homemade brown rice and bean burger
  • Whole wheat pita
  • Salsa (thanks to Marie for this gift!)
  • Cucumber (featured above)
  • Cottage cheese
  • Hummus

Here’s the salsa Marie sent me about a week ago.  I finally ran out of the two jars I was working on so today I was able to start on hers 🙂

It was called Habanero HOT.  MMMMMM!  I ❤ spicy!  I dropped a few teaspoons tablespoons of the salsa in my pita pocket before adding the bean burger.

Cucumbers make good dippers

Snacked on the above featured apple on the way to Knoxville along with one of my whole wheat applesauce chocolate chip cookies (time did elapse between lunch and afternoon snack.  I promise.)

I only ate half the apple.  (It was the size of a small child.)

>>>>>toured  4 different complexes>>>>>

After all that runnin’ around (well, not technically. we drove.) I was starving and was conveniently parked across the street from my future OBSESSION, Panera Bread.  I say future obsession because unfortunately there is not one anywhere near where I currently live.  Sad.

I got the black bean soup with a whole grain baguette.

A perfect ending to a wonderful day 🙂

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

