Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 25, 2010

Yogurt Success

Typical Sunday at the Ray household. 

Abbreviated version: woke up, ate, went to church, ate, napped, grocery shopped, ate, blogged. 

Loooooooooonger version: 

Breakfast:

  • 1/2 cup Ezekiel 4:9 Flax Cereal
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 nana

Nuked the above ingredients in the microwave for 2 min, mashed em all together and topped them with the following ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tablespoon natural raspberry preserves
  • pumpkin pie spice

(Gotta love Biblically inspired food!)

This mornings breakfast made me really miss fruit preserves!  I’m foreseeing a pb and j wrap for lunch tomorrow!

Off to church!  Service was good.  We had a guest speaker from the Wallbuilders come and speak about United States history, our founding fathers, and how our country was clearly built with the Bible being the foundation.  We headed home after church.  I’m always STARVING after church! 

Lunch:

  • Gardenburger Black Bean and Chipotle Burger
  • Brown rice
  • Spinach salad with tomatos, toasted pecans, and raspberry vinaigrette

So I know this sounds weird, but I absolutely love the natural, starchy flavor of plain brown rice and plain baked potatoes.  Sea salt, pepper…the end.  No butter, no cheese, no sour cream.  I crave it!  This hit the spot!

Loved this new vinaigrette.  I’m beginning to become very aware of what foods contain high fructose corn syrup.  SOO many dressings contain it, but this one doesn’t 🙂

Nap time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Woke up around 5ish (oops) and the stomach was demanding some grub!  It sounded something like this…..rawraburbledkjflakdjf.  Intense, I know.  No fear, yogurt was near!

So far I’ve tried, Greek (the favorite), Icelandic (chalky…ew), Australian (too thin, good flavor), Goat (NEVER again!), and this little beauty…Coconut 🙂  SOOO good.  It wasn’t quite as thick as a Greek yogurt but wasn’t drinkable like the Australian.  The flavor was GREAT!  Slightly coconutty, obviously, which was very complementary to the pineapple I ate it with.  All I need is the ocean breeze and an umbrella!

Darn right it was SO Delicious!

They make a beautiful couple 🙂

Stomach was happy.  On to grocery shopping! (unfortunately I didn’t catch a pic of my purchases.   I have a feeling each one shall make a debut later on in the week)  On to dinner!

  • 1 whole wheat wrap
  • 1/2 packet of Bumble Bee Pink Salmon (I was starving and was seeking convenience)
  • 1 tablespoon plain, non-fat yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon chipotle salsa
  • spinach (I’ve been craving spinach recently)
  • tomatoes
  • steamed zucchini, squash, green beans, and corn (once again, seeking convenience with the frozen mix)

They were mushy 😦 I made the mistake of purchasing the off-brand frozen veggies.  Green Giant, I apologize for being a trader.  It won’t happen again.

Pretty good for something I just threw together. 

Tomorrow I’m back to work.  Not sure what creations shall come out of the kitchen of the Minnis House this week.  Chances are there shall be some scones and some chocolate mousse.  Stick around to find out!

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

