Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 24, 2010

Laaaaaazy Saturday

Today was pretty uneventful as I expected it would be.  Dreary and rainy 😦  Thankfully Mom and I are armed and ready with 2 movies, Food Inc. and My Sister’s Keeper.  I can’t get ahead of myself now.  Rewind to BREAKFAST!

  • 3/4 cup Kashi Warm Cinnamon cereal
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • strange nana from Fresh Market
  • iced coffee goodness

I hadn’t tried this Kashi cereal before and loved it!  The taste reminded me of the honey nut Cheerios I would eat as a kid!

Cute little hearts of cinnamon goodness!  The nana on the other hand was rather disappointing.  Tasted no different than a regular nana.  FAIL 😦

After breakfast we decided to watch Food Inc.  I could probably do an entire post or two on the documentary, and I might just do that one of these days, but for now we’ll leave it at that.  A MUST SEE for sure!!!  Snacked on some Pirate Booty Sea Salt and Vinegar and my new favorite, Veggie Melody Straws!  Oh so light and oh so addicting!

Potato, Sweet Potato, and Spinach flavors

It wasn’t long before I was ready for lunch.  I’ve been anxiously awaiting when I would eat this new Kashi meal and today seemed like a perfectly good day! 

Holy moly it was tasty!  Full of flavor, not too spicy, not too sweet, just the right balance!

Ok, so it’s not exactly very eye appealing, but then again, what convenience meal is?!

Oh, and those little green seeds are pumpkin seeds I do believe.  They added a wonderful textural contrast.  I could go on and on about this one, that’s for sure!!

Did a little bit of facebooking and a lot more of nothing productive.  Oh well, isn’t that what Saturdays are all about?!  On to dinner prep.  Mom had a recipe for a lighter sweet potato casserole that she wanted me to make.  Sounded good to me!  I roasted the sweet potatoes at 400 for 1 hour (I forgot that sweet potatoes tend to ooze when baked so we ended up with a little mess in the bottom of the stove.  It smelled exactly like roasted marshmallows for some reason.  Not complaining).  I then mashed them up with a little bit of brown sugar, skim milk, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and orange zest.  Topped it with pecans and popped it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes.  Who says sweet potato casserole is only for Thanksgiving!?!

I had mine along side a Gardenburger Black Bean Chipotle Burger (SOOO good) and the leftover green bean and potato salad with tarragon from a few days ago.  Kinda random, I know, but it was tasty 🙂

Well, I think that’s it for the night in terms of eatin’.  There very well could be some ice cream in the near future.  Actually, there will be some ice cream in the near future.  A weakness of mine, FOR SURE! 

As I depart for the evening I would definitely encourage you to rent/buy/encourage others to buy Food Inc.  I thought I had a good sense of what was going on out there in the food world before, but my eyes have definitely been opened.  It’ll change the way you view your food for sure.  That being said…happy eating 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

