Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 23, 2010

Coffee in my mug, coffee in my cake

Good afternoon all!  Marvelous day so far I’d say!  Blogging this time of the day is a rarity.  Usually at this time I’d be at work, but there were enough people so I didn’t have to stay for lunch service.  I just walked in, baked some strawberry bread, assembled some tirimisu, and was outta there.  Hello WEEKEND!  Let’s begin with breakfast, shall we?

  • 1/4 cup cracked wheat
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 nana
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice

I’m really beginning to love this combination, can’t ya tell?!

Off to get my bake on!

I failed to snap a picture of the strawberry bread 😦 but fortunately we go through so much of that stuff that I’m sure I’ll be making it again here soon.  It goes on our Dora Victoria plate which contains 2 slices of strawberry bread, sandwiched together with a lightly sweetened cream cheese, chicken salad on a bed of greens, and broccoli salad.  The ladies tend to favor this plate.  Very dainty!

We’re having a special candle-light dinner tonight with an Italian theme.  You can’t have Italian without…you guessed it, TIRIMISU!  My all-time favorite dessert 🙂  Traditionally it’s made with ladyfingers but unfortunately none of the local grocery stores carry them.  Get with the program, Food City!  The next best thing is pound cake.  Drenched in espresso and layered with a creamy filling of cream cheese and mascarpone cheese, I could eat this dessert every single day and not get sick of it (maybe sick because of it, but oh well).

The tirimisu for the guests:

The tirimisu for the chef:

Quality control is essential you know!

Time to go home.

Lunch consisted of:

  • whole wheat tortilla
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • splash of skim milk
  • dash of hot sauce
  • 1/3 cup vegetarian, fat-free refried beans
  • sprinkling of 2% Mexican blend cheese
  • salsa

So, that’s all of today’s eatin so far.  There shall be more to come.  Off to Knoxville with mi madre to scope out some apartments and (hopefully) eat at my all-time favorite restaurant…SUNSPOT!  Cross your fingers for me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

