Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 22, 2010

Spinach for breakfast? Count me in!

Good day all!  It’s Thursday night, which means that tomorrow is Friday, which means it’s almost the weekend!  Woot woot!  On to today’s culinary adventures!

Speaking of adventures, I was definitely feeling adventurous for breakfast.  Prior to starting my own blog, I spent many a day following other health foodies’ blogs and saying to myself, I would NEVER try that!  Well, my curiosity got ahold of me and this is what I was able to concoct….GREEN MONSTER anyone??

(Yes, I realize our blender is from circa 1700, but if it ain’t broke, why fix it!?)

  • 3 cups of fresh spinach
  • 1 tablespoon flax
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tablespoons applesauce
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin butter
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 1 cup of ice

Blend it all up and enjoy!  And trust me, it doesn’t taste like spinach, but more like a banana smoothie!  I filled up my mug, drank half, and filled it up again before heading out the door and there was still half the blender left!!! Seriously, it’s like, where did all this stuff come from!?!

What’s left in the blender is what I couldn’t finish before leaving for work.  I obviously need a specialty, jumbo Green Monster mug!  Coffee was consumed this morning as always.  In the midst of all the experimentation I suppose I didn’t give it my photographic lovin’.  My apologies, Joe.

On to work!!!

Let’s see, I made some strawberry loaf bread, some “puffs”, and some scones.  There are two pastries, in particular, that are my favorite to bake…brownies and scones.  Brownies because I love brownie batter 🙂 and scones because they’re ooey and gooey and messy and just plain delicious! (Amy B, if you’re reading, these scones have got your name written all over them!)

Cinnamon pecan white chocolate mini-scones 🙂

Lunch rush occurred soon after these little beauties made their arrival in the world!

On to Kayley’s lunch: Whole wheat pita with the last serving of hummus (I love it when I don’t have to dirty a dish b/c I can just eat it straight out of the container!)

 

And some maple Australian yogurt!

Thank you Australia!

Finished up at work and then headed home.  Snacking occurred soon afterward.

  • 1/2 whole wheat tortilla
  • more hummus (can you tell I love hummus?!)
  • black beans
  • SALSA 🙂

Annnnd then some more snacking!

Perfectly ripe mango!  (I may need to sharpen up on my mango slicing skills.  I butchered this one)

Brisk walk around town with mom came afterward.  Beautiful evening for a walk! 

Dinner: FAJITAS….ole!

  • Red pepper
  • Green pepper
  • Yellow onion
  • Mushrooms

Slapped that mixture on a whole wheat tortilla and topped it with some black beans (for protein), black olives, 2% fat Mexican blend cheese, and SALSA!  YUM!!

Sad news: This little jar of deliciousness has come and gone.  It was nice knowing you.

Well, that was all the eatin for the day.  I’m foreseeing a breakfast with more substance in the morning.  Oh, and I’m making my FAVORITE dessert (to eat that is) at work.  Stick around to see what it is!

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

