Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 21, 2010

“Soup”er FAIL :(

Happy HuMp Day!  I know I say this all the time, but I’m going to TRY to make this post brief.  I’m pooped.  We’ll see how that goes.  What can I say, I LOVE talkin food! 

Last night REWIND!

I’ve gotten into a bad habit over the last year or so of having to have something sweet before going to bed (more than likely it’s ice cream).  I’ve come to terms with this and I’ll admit, I probably won’t be changing my ways any time soon.  Sweets and coffee are two things I will NEVER give up.  Speaking of sweets and coffee, I was able to satisfy both cravings last night!

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, you’ll recognize this culprit as the one who BROKE my ice cream scoop.  If you’re new here…I’ll remind you:

I got revenge this time and finished him off.  Take that Stonyfield Farms Java goodness!

On to this morning!  Breakfast success, what can I say 🙂

  • 1/4 cup cracked wheat
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tablespoons pumpkin butter

(shucks!! I just remembered that I forgot the pumpkin pie spice.  oh well.)

Pumpkin butter glamour shot:

Off to work, full and energized!

BUSY day today!  It was pretty much just me, myself and I running the kitchen today.  Intense.  In the midst of all the craziness I forgot to take a picture of my mid-morning snack/pre-lunch which consisted of a whole wheat tortilla with a couple of tablespoons of almond butter w/ flax seed, wrapped up burrito style.  One of the main reasons I turn to this little snack so often is because: a. it has plenty of protein and good carbs to keep my blood sugar stabilized and b. (this may not be a pleasant picture but…) it can be eaten very quickly.

The second part of my lunch was inspired by the small amount of greens left in the container that wouldn’t suffice for even a side salad for the customers.  I added some extra spinach, tomatoes, strawberries, and broccoli and tossed it all in a raspberry vinaigrette.  Ahhhhh, refreshing!

Work continued with myself making more chicken salad, “puffs”, and some miniature almond sponge cakes for a special luncheon tomorrow for 24 people.  I couldn’t help but admire the beauty of a halved grape in the midst of chicken salad construction 🙂

Breath-taking I know!

Left work around 4:00 and came home for a little relaxation before heading to workout.  In the meantime I concocted my pre-workout fuel.

  • 1/4 cup hummus (I added some more after I snapped the pic)
  • 1/8 cup Ezekiel 4:9 Flax Cereal

(farm spoon made it taste even better)

I loved the textural contrast here.  This cereal is VERY crunchy, so paired with the smooth hummus they made a wonderful combination.

Work out went well.  Jetted home afterward and fixed the quickest “meal” I could find before heading to church.  Not too pleased with the outcome 😦

I added too much water.  Those folks at Eating Right need to lower their “fill line” mark.  Result:

Boo for watery soup.  (I promise I washed the farm spoon).  I surrendered to the soup and ended up drinking it.  It burnt my mouth.  Bad soup!

Came home from church and more cooking went down!  Administrative Assistant’s Day means Kayley gets to make food for mom’s employees.  I know, I’m being taken advantage of.  Oh well. 

Green bean, tomato, and potato salad with tarragon dressing:

AND…. Pecan praline topped bread pudding:

I finished my night with…you guessed it…ICE CREAM 🙂 

Major FAIL at making this post brief.  That being said, my closing shall be brief (baby steps, Kayley)!

Happy eating!

Responses

  1. You have given me a really good reason to go to work – LUNCH!!

  2. Loved it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

