Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 20, 2010

I smell NANA BREAD!

Booooo for dreary mornings!  All I wanted to do was crawl up by the fireplace in a big fuzzy blanket and drink hot coffee and watch Food Network.  Thats all.  My alarm had other ideas.  People need their pastries by golly!  In order for this chick to make pastries, she needs some fuel.  What kind of fuel?  Icelandic fuel!

  • siggi’s Icelandic style non-fat yogurt:pomegranate and passion fruit flavor
  • nana
  • Ezekiel 4:9 cereal

My initial thought was to eat them separately, but then I got the brilliant idea to mix em up in a parfait of sorts (ok, so maybe it wasn’t that brilliant, but early in the mornin, even the slightest bit of ingeniousness gives ya a little ego boost).

Mid-parfait construction:

I’ll be honest, I was somewhat disappointed with this breakfast in terms of taste.  The nana was good.  Can’t ever go wrong with a nana.  Yogurt on the other hand, wasn’t my favorite.  It was thick, which I expected, but it had a chalky texture.  Not very pleasant.  The flavor was VERY subtle.  Too subtle for my liking.  Like I’ve said in earlier posts, I’m still trying to get accustomed to natural sweeteners instead of overly-sweet, artificial sweeteners.  What I DID LIKE about this yogurt was how full I stayed throughout the morning!!!  I read on the label that one cup of siggi’s contains 3x the amount of protein that the same amount of regular yogurt would contain!  I believe that 🙂

With a full stomach, I was out the door and off to work!

We had so many bananas that had clearly gone bad.  Normally, this would be a sad, sad sight.  In the eyes of a pastry chef, this screams NANA BREAD!

The uglier the better!

Mix  mix mix mix mix mix!

Bowl of ooey gooey nana goodness!

1 hour and 10 minutes later:

I quickly became the most popular person in the kitchen 🙂

Soon afterward, I made some “puffs”  which are similar to pate a choux (which is what the outside of cream puffs or eclairs is made from).  This particular recipe and technique makes them super easy to make.  They can be used in savory or sweet applications.  At the Minnis House, they are topped with either chicken salad or ice cream. 

Pate a choux au natural:

I like to think that each has their own little personality 🙂

Eventually I was hungry for lunch, which I brought from home today….just like every other day.  Simple but good.  A whole wheat pita with mediterranean hummus was just enough for the time being.

Like I’ve said in earlier posts, I have nothing against the food at the Minnis House, but I tend to eat healthier if I pack my own lunch.

Worked some more….came home…..got ready to get my work out on!  A small snack was consumed prior to said iron pumping.   This was in today’s lunch box but I never got around to eating it.  Not a problem.

(Sorry for the blurriness) Fat-free cottage cheese with sliced cherry (or grape, I always get them confused) tomatoes.

Work out was somewhat productive today.  I still probably talked more than I should have.  Oh well.  On to dinner!

Create your own pizza night at the Ray household!  I halved some whole wheat pitas and placed them on the pizza stone, set the oven to 400 degrees and began assembling.  I opted for a Mexican pizza which contained:

  • fat-free refried beans (I will admit that on occasion I have eaten these straight outta the can, no microwaving necessary)
  • black beans
  • corn
  • mushrooms
  • sprinkling of cheddar cheese
  • black olives
  • SALSA

Corrie (my sister, for those who may not know) just wanted mushrooms and cheese.  Mom’s had mushrooms, olives, cheese, and salsa.

Here are the fat-free refried beans I love 🙂

Finished work of pizza art!  Ole!

So very delicious and EASY and versatile and healthy and ….ok, you get the point.  I liked this one 🙂

Before I depart for the evening, I’d like to give a shout out to my new friend, Marie, who kindly sent me some SALSA to try.  You all know I like salsa!  This particular salsa was locally made in Parrottsville, TN!  It took everything in me not to rip into it, but the more reasonable side of me recalled that I had 2 jars already open.  Stay tuned for the review!

  That’s all for the night.   Happy eating!

Responses

  1. Im bettin’ the Healthy Chick likes to mix fruit with her salsa. Peaches, pineapple or my favorite, honeydew melon – better yet, a melon medley – honeydew, watermelon and cantalope.
    Gotta run – time for breakfast!
    mb

    • mmmmm! I’ll definitely have to try that! Then again, I could put salsa on a boot and it’d taste good. (ok, maybe that’s a stretch). Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

