Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 19, 2010

Herbal Neglect

Before I begin talking food, I’d like to set aside a moment to pay respects for some dear friends of mine who have passed:

During their short life they enjoyed basking in the sun (maybe a little too much sun) and their daily occasional drink of cool water.  Regardless of why they passed away, or whose fault it was (because that’s completely irrelevant), I believe now is the time to honor them with a moment of silence………….thank you.

On to the food!

REWIND! I left you last night right before having a frozen yogurt moment.  At this time I’d like to bring you that moment and all the destructiveness that occurred prior.

Looks like the makings of a wonderful ending to a wonderful evening, right?  WRONG (dum dum dum!)

(Insert horror movie scream)

I guess I don’t know my own strength.  Or maybe I’m just too darn impatient to wait for it to soften.  Needless to say, I didn’t let this little set-back get in the way of me and my fro-yo moment.

Ahhhh, success!

Notice the farm spoon.  I’ve had this spoon since I was a baby.  Love that spoon.  Moving on to today’s food happenings!

Breakfast:

  • 1/2 Multi-grain bagel
  • 1 tablespoon low-fat cream cheese
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin butter deliciousness
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • dash of hot sauce (on the egg whites, not the bagel)

Spicy egg whites: good.  Pumpkin butter bagel: GREAT!

Time for work.  Slow morning.  Made some corn muffins and that was pretty much all I could fit in before a doctor’s appointment.  I then met my mom for lunch at a place called Java Garden.  I got the veggie wrap which was full of fresh veggies and feta cheese and wrapped in a spinach wrap!  I was hungry so I also got a small spinach salad with strawberries and pecans.  That sounds like summer to me!

Confession: The wrap you see….well, it’s only half the wrap.  Both halves were consumed along with that entire salad.  Did I mention that I was hungry?

Before you look ahead to the next picture, I’ve got some explaining to do, major explaining.  Last time I had blood drawn, well, I kinda passed out.  To prevent such an episode I followed todays lab work with none other than a sugar-filled Jamoca shake.  Low blood sugar+driving=no bueno.

Not gonna lie.  It was tasty.  And I didn’t pass out this time! 

Several hours later (after the massive shake had time to settle) I met mom to workout.  We then tackled some grocery shopping before heading home.  Dinner time! 

I like to think this is what Mr. Salmon looked like prior to becoming my dinner.  Thank you for your sacrifice Mr. Salmon.

  • Salmon seasoned with sea salt and cracked pepper
  • Whole wheat couscous
  • Leftover green beans and corn from last night’s dinner

I love salmon and I eat it a lot, so it wasn’t as much of a treat as the couscous was. 

Couscous glamour shot 🙂

Salmon glamour shot 🙂

Well, that is all for the night.  Happy eating!

Responses

  1. So sorry to hear about the passing of Herb. You can’t blame yourself – those things happen.
    mb

  2. I wonder what really happened to Ole Herb

  3. Hey, i’m growing some Herbs of my own. Lavender, Tarragon, Mint, Basil, Catnip, Garlic Chives, Cilantro, ohh and a Stevia plant that I got at Walmart (it was calling my name!). What you got growing?

    Jamoca shake’s are the best!

    • Well aren’t you just talented! (Actually, I’m very jealous). Send me some!


Leave a Reply

Categories

