Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 17, 2010

Iceland, Goats, Australia, and Coconuts have alot in common ya know.

Super duper, fantastic, splendid, marvelous, glorious, as close to perfect as it gets kinda day today!  I have a lot of material to cover so I’ll hop hop hop to it!  The fam wanted to go eat brunch at The Minnis House today since I was off.  It was weird being in the front of the house…very weird.  I wanted to go spy but I restrained.  Saturday brunch at the restaurant is a lot of country-style, heartier food but I was in the mood for something lighter.  Opted for the parfait with fruit and yogurt. 

Ooops, rewind.  As you know, I always wake up hungry.  Pre-brunch I had some leftover Greek yogurt from yesterday and an iced coffee. 

After brunch, mom and I headed to Market Square for the Dogwood Arts Festival and Farmer’s Market.  PERFECT weather! Today there were tons of chalk artists there.  So cool!

Look familiar?  This lady was the featured artist from Orlando.  She definitely chose the perfect person to draw (or chalk rather??).

Me and my beautiful mama!

Sad news: only one cup of coffee was consumed this morning. 

Good news:  Market Square has plenty of cafes 🙂

Small, skinny, sugar-free vanilla latte.  So strong but SOO good.  Caffeine fix…check!

The cafe (called Coffee and Chocolate….say no more!) had free samples of a cayenne pepper brownie!!!  WHOA it was HOT!

After mom and I left Market Square we headed to Earth Fare so I could explore.  One of the greatest things about Earth Fare is the FREE SAMPLES!!  Lets see….I had veggie sushi, trail mix, vegan nuggets of goodness with mango sauce, chocolate whey shake, grilled trout, Kashi cereal, and 2 kinds of cheese.  Whoa, totally didn’t realize I ate that much till I just typed it all.  Small portions I promise!  needless to say, that was my afternoon snack.

I knew I couldn’t leave empty-handed.

 

  • Gardenburger Black Bean Chipotle veggie burgers
  • Sonyfield Farm Organic Java fat-free frozen yogurt
  • Pirate’s Booty Veggie flavor
  • Ezekiel 4:9 Golden Flax cereal
  • Stacy’s multi-grain pita chips (mom’s favorite!)
  • Selina natural Portuguese Flor de Sal sea salt (used on the wonderful trout that I sampled)
  • Muir Glen Organic Chipotle Salsa (I love chipotle flavored things)
  • Medford Farms Pure Pumpkin Butter….YUMMMM

And then there was yogurt.  I wanted to try some new kinds.  Australian yogurt anyone??

  • Siggi’s Icelandic yogurt
  • So Delicious Coconut Milk yogurt
  • Redwood Hill Farms Goat Milk yogurt
  • Wallaby’s Organic Australian-style yogurt

After some grocery shopping fun, it was time for dinner.  My mom had never eaten at Five Guy’s Burger’s and Fries before and has been wanting to try it for quite some time.  I know, I know….potato salad yesterday and now burgers and fries!  Hey, I’m human.  I opted out of the burger and instead went for the veggie sandwich (aka everything that a typical hamburger contains…minus the burger) on a….dum dum dum….regular white hamburger bun with (brace yourself) french fries.

For anyone just tuning in…this is a rarity. 

On the way home I stopped at the Minnis House to bake off a few things and then headed home to find this beauty waiting in the mail!

IT’S OFFICIAL!  I’ve got my diploma!  Graduated Summa Cum Laude at Johnson & Wales University with my Associates of Applied Science in Baking and Pastry Arts. 

And now you know why today was a GREAT day!

Responses

  1. Looks like really did have a great day,,Congrads on the degree

  2. Thank you!

  3. are those blueberries in the parfait?

  4. blueberries, strawberries and rasperries! It was berry good! (sorry, that was pathetic)


Leave a Reply

Categories

