Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 16, 2010

New friends, new clothes, new school…one great day!

Alright all, I’m exhausted so today’s post is gonna be brief.  Woke up EARLY this mornin because my transfer student UT orientation was today (Go Vols).  Started with breakfast: Kashi Go LEAN with skim milk, a banana, and a cup o’ joe (in my new, cute mug….yes, that’s a mug, not a disposable cup.  gotcha!)

This breakfast is definitely my go-to for rush rush mornings like this one.  Kashi Go LEAN is FULL of protein (13g!) to keep me energized and full! 

Arrived at UT, got my student id made, attended some sessions, and then realized I was in need of another caffeine boost!  Starbucks conveniently just so happened to be right down the hall!  Score!  My new friend, Sara, and I headed that way and I got myself a tall, skinny, sugar-free latte.  I rarely ever get Starbucks so this was a treat.  Just what I needed! (Sorry, no pic for this one but I’m sure we’ve all seen a Starbucks cup before.)

Attended more sessions, blah blah blah blah blah, then we headed to lunch which was provided for us.  Just what I expected….sandwiches.  I attempted to make the best of this. 

Two slices of wheat bread with lettuce, tomato, pickles and mustard.  Not very filling.  Shocking I know.  I swear I don’t ever eat mayonaisey salads, but like I said, I was starving so I folded this time around.  (I’ll admit, it was kinda good).  After that I loitered around the dessert table and snatched the two strawberry garnishes left on the cookie and brownie platter.  My idea of dessert!

More sessions…..blah blah blah.

Finally was able to register for classes after some slight confusion.  NO JOKE….I was in there for over 2 hours!!  What was on my mind, classes?  Nope.  FOOD!  While my advisor was typing things into the computer I stealthily ate my emergency almond butter wrap that I had stashed in my purse for instances like this.  I didn’t think it would be appropriate to take a picture of it at that time.  Looked something like this:

Not the actual almond butter wrap…just a replica)

After orientation was over, my  mom and I headed to our ALL-TIME favorite restaurant in Knoxville!  Sunspot!!!!!!!!!!!  It gets more delicious every time I go!  My mom got black bean and feta chimichangas with pico de galo.  We always taste each others dishes and let me tell ya, it was SOOOOOOO good! 

I got the Veg wrap on a whole wheat tortilla with hummus and tons of veggies such as bean sprouts, portobello mushrooms, onions, and roasted red peppers.  For my side I got steamed broccoli.  I know this sounds crazy, but this was the BEST steamed broccoli I think I have ever had!  Perfectly steamed (not mushy. some restaurants treat their steamed broccoli as if everyone ordering it has escaped a nursing home.  no bueno), perfectly seasoned, and not drowning in butter!

Oh, and the wrap was good too 🙂

Our table had haikus, written by customers, all over it.  So cool.  Kept me busy while I was anxiously awaiting for my superb food!

Followed dinner with some ShOpPiNg with mi madre! Went to the mall and World Market (my new favorite store).  I’ve been wanting some new cute aprons and this was definitely the perfect place!  Had to model a few of course.

Got three of them! YAY!  Cooking is so much more fun when you do it in style!

Time to come home 😦  Had a WONDERFUL day today!

Oh, by the way, I was hungry when I got home (we ate an early dinner) so I dined on last nights leftovers.  Gotta love leftover chinese 🙂

Well, I guess I lied.  So much for making this one brief.  Tomorrow I have the day off but I’m still heading to the restaurant…to eat, not work.  I’m debating on making some crazy requests, just because I can do that.  Hehehe.  I’ll let ya know how that goes.  Goodnight and happy eating!

Responses

  1. I’m loving your blog

  2. I don’t know if I would call this a brief blog…
    Think you started a good thing. I’m reading.
    Got a question though…
    Where is the meat? 5oz steak maybe?

    • hmm, funny you bring that up, nick. from the looks of the past few blogs, do you think a 5 oz steak would fit in?? meat=no bueno. it’s complicated. however I might devote a future post to that topic. we’ll see 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

