Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 15, 2010

White rice+soy sauce= BROWN RICE!

So, before I start with this morning and all the culinary creations that became, I have a slight confession to make concerning last night and the cravings that occurred about 10:30ish.  Well, I don’t want to call it a confession because the term “confession” carries such a negative connotation.  Anyways, back to my point.  I wanted ice cream and there just so happened to be the perfect amount left for me to dine directly from the carton.  It’s so bittersweet.  On one hand you get the joy of getting to eat, well, straight from the carton without having to be sneaky about it.  On the other hand, that means the happiness that is inside is sure to come to an end soon.  Not that the “after” picture is very exciting, but that’s all I’ve got.  Use your imagination.

On to this morning.  Lovely start in terms of breakfast.  I had 2 Kashi waffles remaining and a nana that was getting a little ripe.  Not a problem!

Ok, so I hate to brag, but isn’t that the prettiest breakfast you’ve ever seen!  The nana “glue” was some strawberry Chobani fat-free Greek yogurt.  Once you go Greek, you don’t go back!  Washed it down with liquid caffeine cup #1 shortly followed by cup #2.  Full, energized, and off to work!

As soon as I got to work, I started working on today’s lunch special.  I typically don’t do alot of the savory menu items, but this was an exception.  I’ve made Martha Stewart’s Roasted Vegetable Lasagna several times before and felt it would make a wonderful addition to today’s menu.  Full of roasted zucchini, eggplant, and red onion, as well as creamy, rich goat cheese, this is seriously one of the tastiest lasagnas I’ve ever had. (I’ll apologize now. I don’t have a picture of the finished product. Lunch rush=no pics)

(We had some tomatoes that needed to be used up, so I went ahead and roasted them up as well)

 

I could eat roasted zucchini just like this!

On to my lunch.  Apologies again for the lack of variety.  What can I say, I love me some hummus and pita!

After my lunch I made the dough for about 400 lemon icebox cookies for a reception on Sunday.  Didn’t have time to slice and bake them.  That’ll come on a later day I suppose.  Left work early for a doctor’s appointment but not before some boring snacking 😦 Didn’t bring much with me today so I had to resort to this granola bar that has been in my purse for who knows how long.  (I’m hypoglycemic so I have to carry food with me all the time.  Gives me an excuse to eat I guess!)

 

Notice the obnoxiously yellow walls that I had to stare at for over an hour.  That’ll make anyone go bonkers.

There just so happened to be a specialty food store on my route home so of course I had to check it out.  Loved it!  I told myself I wasn’t going to buy anything.  That never happens when I go food shopping.  Now I’m one pint of gluten-free, organic ice cream and 3 pieces of chocolate richer.  Darn.

I love trying new things!

Met my lovely mother for dinner at Asian House, the one stop shop for those who can’t decide between Japanese, Chinese, or Sushi.  I opted for the sesame tofu with steamed broccoli and “brown rice”.  I asked the waitress if they had brown rice and she looked at me kinda funny.  “Yes, our rice is brown.”  I took that as a no.  Technically I guess she’s right.  White rice+ soy sauce= brown rice.  DUH Kayley!

 

 It was SOOOO good!  I would have prefered less sauce, but other than that I give it a thumbs up!  Fortune cookies were to follow.

I think mom accidently got the fortune cookie that was meant for me.  It said, “Someone is interested in you.  Keep your eyes open.”  I’ll let ya know how this one pans out….or maybe not. 

A walk with mom around town was to follow.  Lovely weather. Lovely company.  What’s the perfect ending to a lovely day?  Sonic of course!

Diet Cherry Limeade deliciousness!  Now if I can only get that darn cherry out from under all that ice.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

Categories

