Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 15, 2010

Quichey Keen

Two words describe this morning….breakfast FAIL!  After yesterday’s experimental success, I woke up this morning with invincibility running all through my veins.  Ok, maybe that was a bit intense.  Before you look at the below picture, let me explain myself.  Blueberries go with oatmeal, right??  Why can’t they go with cracked wheat?  So, I gave it a shot.  What do I get…a big bowl of asphalt!

MMMM, tasty eh?  Not one bit.  Part of me didn’t even want to try it, but my curiosity got ahold of me.  Never again, Kayley. Never again.

Breakfast attempt numero dos was underway and I didn’t really have much time for more experimenting, so what’s a girl to do?  Grabbed some more cracked wheat, a banana, some applesauce, and a packet of Truvia.  Sound familiar?  It was even better this time around.  Finally some success and one happy belly!

I downed that bowl of hearty deliciousness along with a cup of liquid caffeine and I was good to go….but not until I got a refill.

Muuuuuch better 🙂

Breakfast-check! Coffee refill-check! Packed lunch-check!

Isn’t that the cutest lunchbox you’ve ever seen?  Love me some Vera Bradley!  (notice the large blue gallon pitcher in the background?  red Kool-Aid? nope.  sweet tea? guess again.  lemonade? wrong.  that’d be the iced coffee pitcher.  i think you get my point)

So yes, I do work in a kitchen and as you can see, I do pack my lunch.  If I make an effort to take time and pack my lunch, I’m much more likely to make healthier choices throughout the day as opposed to snacking on a muffin or a cookie or some chicken salad here and there.  Does it cost me a little more money? Maybe a little, but it keeps me feeling better about myself and more energized throughout the day.  When I was in culinary school for baking and pastry, I snacked on all the treats we’d make and then we’d go up to the culinary labs and eat all the fatty food they’d make and by the end of the day I was one bloated, icky-feeling mess!  I’m beginning to become accustomed to being around food all day long, so resisting isn’t quite as hard as it used to be.

That brings me to what was in today’s lunch box.  A whole wheat pita filled with mediterranean flavored hummus.

This was a brand new hummus I found recently that is all natural, fat-free, and low in calories (only 15 calories per 2 tablespoons!).  I was skeptical that it would taste as good as the hummus I usually get, but to my surprise it measured up!

Ok, so the picture is a little blurry, but I’m sure you’d recognize it if you saw it.  Moving on.

Before the next item in the lunchbox is revealed, some baking did occur.

To most people this wouldn’t be very pretty, but to me, it’s got great quiche crust potential written all over it!!!!  Oh buddy this makes me happy!  It’s not crumbly yet not too wet.  It rolls out easily.  Best of all, you see those little specks of butter throughout the dough?  That’s got flaky pastry written all over it.  The two most important things to keep in mind when making pie dough is 1. COLD ingredients and 2. NOT OVERMIXING!  You want to see those specks of butter.  Butter specks=GOOD!  (I could go into the science of it all, but I’ll leave it at that for now.)

  

Here are my quiche, basking in the sun.  I don’t blame them.  Happy quiche, happy quiche.

Check out the flaky crust.  Told ya so.

Moving on.  Lunch time al fresco.

Iced tea with perfectly ripened fruit and fat-free cottage cheese.  Fresh and absolutely delicious!  And as for the view…

Here I sat in my rocking chair.  I don’t know if it could have gotten any better than this!

The other side of the porch.

Around 4:30 I left work and came home before meeting my mom to workout.  Gotta have some fuel as you know.

A little bit of Kashi Go LEAN and a couple tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce.

Workout was more productive today.  I don’t know where the energy came from.  I was so exhausted after work, I thought about skipping the workout but I’m glad I didn’t.  Rushed home afterward to get ready for church.  Nuked some lefterover Mexican casserole in the microwave for a couple minutes and then ate it in less time than it took to microwave it! (it’s a casserole keep in mind…and a leftover one at that.  the picture doesn’t do it justice, i promise!)

Went to church, came home, and ate more.  Story of my life.  This time was leftover casserole number two.  (we really don’t have casseroles that much, as though it may seem)  This time I picked out all the sweet potatoes.  I LOVE sweet potatoes.  If you don’t drown them in butter and brown sugar they’re by far one of the most healthy vegetables out there! 

That hit the spot!  Well, I believe that’s it for today.  Lots of bakin’, lots of eatin’, and lots not enough front porch sittin’!  Good night 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

