Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 13, 2010

The cow convinced me

Lunch today was somewhat, well, unexciting.  Actually, now that I look at it, it is made up completely of leftovers or last remaining servings in the package/jar as seen here.

That would be green beans from last night’s dinner, the last pita in the bag, the last Morningstar Chick’n patty, and the scrapings from the salsa jar (which accompanied the chick’n patty inside the pita).  Not bad but at the same time, not great. 

About an hour after lunch I was still hungry.  Go figure.  There wasn’t much in the pantry or fridge that seemed appealing (if there had been anything appealing I would have probably eaten it for lunch as opposed to leftover central seen above).  Thankfully Mr. Breyer came to the rescue.

No worries, I only had a couple three or four spoonfuls which seemed to do the trick.  This lead me to believe that I wasn’t really that hungry, just in need of an afternoon sugary, fatty, chocolatey fix.  What’s a girl to do?

After my sister got off work (we both currently work at The Minnis House, she as a waitress, myself as the pastry chef) we headed to go workout, but not until I got a little pre-sweat fuel in my system.

Kashi Go LEAN cereal and about half of that cup of non-fat yogurt did the trick.

Following our workout (which turned out to be not quite as sweat-filled as I had initially mention.  we were slackers today.  oops) we headed to Food City for some necessary grocery shopping.

Success.

Notice the carton of cottage cheese to the right of the green grapes (which were on sale. boo-ya!).

Yes, this cottage cheese.  I was planning on buying cottage cheese as it was, but not necessarily the Food Club brand.  It’s not that I have anything against Food Club food, but Food Club dairy just seems different to me.  This cute little cow had other plans for me.  I couldn’t resist.  I’m a sucker for attractive food packaging.  I’ll let ya know how this cute cow cottage cheese compares (check out that fancy smacy unintentional alliteration).

I passed by the living room today and noticed my poor little herbs that I attempted to start growing about 2 weeks ago.  The box made it sound so simple.  I think this would be referred to as plant neglect.  Sorry little guys.

About 2 weeks ago I made a big batch of bean and brown rice burgers, formed them into patties, and froze them.  Cheap, delicious, and oh-so-convenient!  One was calling my name for dinner tonight…so I answered 🙂

Dinner consisted a bean and rice burger topped with chipotle salsa (i’m a salsa junky by the way) and wrapped in a whole wheat tortilla.  Along side I finished off that cup of non-fat yogurt from earlier today and a not so ripe banana.  I was in need of a fruit fix.  Not typically something I pair with dinner, but why not!

Oh, and by the way, here’s that chipolte salsa I would definitely recommend!

Spicy smokey deliciousness!

Anyways, that’s all for today.  The cow and I wish you good night and tasty eating 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

