Posted by: healthychickbakes | April 12, 2010

My first REAL post!

Happy Monday!  After following several healthy eating blogs somewhat very obsessively for the past several weeks I’ve finally conqered the procrastinator in me and have started my own.  Before I start, let me preface my saying a few things.

  1. I am definitly not a photographer by any means.  My appologies for any blurry and/or horribly pics in the future.
  2. I am definitly no writer.  (Not to mention I’m a horrible speller as well.  Thank you spell check!) 
  3. I have a passion for cooking, baking, healthy eating, and (hopefully) inspiring others to enjoy the same things 🙂 

So here it goes.  Hope you enjoy!

First and foremost, I’m a breakfast fan.  Normal people hate getting out of bed in the morning.  I, on the other hand, don’t mind it so much because chances are, I’ve got food on my mind.  This morning was no different 🙂

Two toasted Kashi Go LEAN Blueberry waffles with non-fat vanilla yogurt and a mug of my top secret iced coffee.  I can’t remember the last time I started a morning without at least one mug of coffee.  This morning in particular I had two.  I’m convinced coffee tastes better in a cute mug.  This one went with my outfit today.  (and no, I don’t purposefully do that)

These little discs of deliciousness are jam packed with protein and fiber unlike…well, I won’t name names.  You get my point.  No syrup  necessary.  The yogurt featured above makes a wonderful topping in my opinion.

After breakfast and a refill of liquid caffeine, I was off to work to make some “puffs” for the chicken salad on the lunch menu.  The “puffs” are like pate a choux (you may be more familiar with pate a choux in sweet applications such as in eclairs or creme puffs).  I failed to get a picture of these little beauties.  So cute!  Not to mention they were much easier to make than traditional pate a choux where you have to stand over a pot for what seems like an eternity stirring until your arm falls off.  Thanks to the handy dandy food processor the work was much easier on me (not that I couldn’t handle it or anything) 

After being at work for a whoppin’ hour and a half I helped myself to cup o’ joe numero tres, this time the hot version, for my drive home.

Regular coffee (courtesy of the Minnis House) with a packet of Truvia and one of those little individual servings of half and half.  Typically I’d choose skim milk but that was my only option.  Maybe three cups was a little much.  I was a wee bit jittttterrrry.

Now I’m home.  Off to make lunch.  To be continued…

Leave a Reply

Categories

